SRC Writing Contest

Folks, it’s been ages since I last blogged. If anyone is still following this blog, I apologize for my absence. Lots has been happening here at the library, and I just haven’t had any extra time to write.

Okay, enough of the excuses. I won’t catch you up on everything because that would take more time then I have. However, you’re more than welcome to come to the library and see all the exciting things we’ve been up to. Instead, I’m going to dive right in and ask for your help with a Summer Reading Club contest that I have going on. I need you to be my judges!

The contest rules were for children ages 5-12 to write a short story or poem following the themes “Trick or Truth” or “True Story!”. I will type out the 5 top entries here on this blog, and then I need you to email me at aburnham@orl.bc.ca to tell me who you think should win the contest. The winner will recieve 2 free movie passes to the movie theatre. (Out of consideration to all the participants, please do not write who should win in the comments section of this blog.)

I will write the age of each participant, but I will keep the rest of their identity annonymous. I will also try to type out their poems and stories exactly as they submitted them to me in order to keep the works as close to the original as possible.

Here we go…

1. Percy, Annabeth and Grover!

by child age 11

I BET YOU DONT BELEIVE IN ANCIENT GREEK,

THAT JUST MAKES YOU A GEEK!

YOU PROBABLY DONT BELEIVE IN PERCY, ANNABETH AND GROVER

NOW THIS POEM IS OVER!

2. Bugs

by child age 7

Bug’s

    they

come

in

the

Dark

they

go

Buzzzzzzz

all

over

the

    place

Bug’s

they

come

and

then

are

gone

and

grasshoppers

gump

all

over

the

place

the end

3. A Short Tale

by child age 9

There is such a thing as a short man!

A man who is two feet tall.

It’s strange but true! They call him a midget!

He is also amazingly strong!

And…he is only fifteen!!!!

He has won trophies and medals, awards,

And signs autographs!

You might not believe me

But it is true!

4. Demi-god

by child age 9

One day I was out fishing when I fell in the lake. I couldn’t hold my breath long. Soon I let go of my breath. But, I was still breathing.

I am the daughter of poiseidon!

The End

5. Hachi

by child age 7

A long time ago, there lived a dog named Hachi. He had no home but a railway statshon. Then one day a man found him wandering on the road and took him to his house where he got fed and got looked after. He grew to be a big dog and playful to. When the man went to work, the dog followed and Hachi would be waiting when the man got home from work. But one day the man didn’t come home. But the dog kept waiting. This went on for many years until Hachi died. Then, to remember him, they put up a statue right in the place where Hachi used to wait for his kind and helpful master. Hachi was also a good dog. Hachi was born in Odate, Japan, in 1923 and died in 1935.

Remember, please email me at aburnham@orl.bc.ca to tell me who you think should win. Thank you all!!

Leave a Reply

